Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
4

To Wake at Dawn with a Winged Heart and Give Thanks for Another Day of Loving

A Message of Thanks
4
Transcript

No transcript...

Hello friends,

As the community of paid subscribers grows on here, I wanted to send out a personal message of thanks. In a world endless with choices to invest our money, it is no small thing that you have chosen to imbue your coin in my work. So, thank you.

Since starting my Substack just about a year and a half ago now, I have been able to dedicate myself fully to writing. I’m just about past the halfway mark of my first book, and I’m currently working on a series of entries for paid subscribers on an introduction to myth.

As I mention in the video, if you have any requests - things like a book club, a regular live gathering space to discuss particular themes from my entries, or any other ideas you might have - please do reach out! I’m very open to developing new ways of deepening into the themes of this publication: notably the mythopoetic, ancient history and ritual/trance states.

If you are a free subscriber, please consider upgrading your subscription. For the equivalent of a couple of cups of coffee a month, I send out bi-weekly (sometimes weekly) entries with an audio recording for Sunday reading. Your support also means I can dedicate myself to writing full-time - no doubt the ultimate dream of any writer!

I am aware it is not possible for everyone to support financially, so I will always share one free monthly entry for free subscribers. And it really helps just to share those free pieces!

So thank you again, all of you, for being here and inspiring this little hermit to shuffle over to her desk every day.

This all said, I can’t really drop into your inbox without sharing a poem…

So here is one of the ones I read during this month’s Dismemberment Ceremony. It is from News of the Universe: Poems of Twofold Consciousness, a collection of poetry translated by Robert Bly and well worth having in the bookshelf.

With all my love, gratitude, and camaraderie,

Gabriela

Under a Fig Tree is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, please consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Thank you for reading Under a Fig Tree. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

*Title of this entry quoted from Khalil Gibran (2007) “Kahlil Gibran: Masterpieces”
4 Comments
Under a Fig Tree
Under a Fig Tree
Authors
Gabriela Gutierrez